San Francisco: Bergez-Frank's Old Poodle Dog Restaurant,1908. Elaborate cardboard design 12 x 8 inches with velvet verso and an envelope with a wood-engraving pasted on the face containing an opening night reservation for June 10, 1908 for a party of 20.
In 1908, the owners of the Poodle Dog, the Old Poodle Dog, John Bergez Restaurant and Frank's Rotisserie merged their businesses, opening Bush Street and Claude Lane under Lalanne with partners Jean B. Pon, Jean Bergez, Louis Coutard and Camille Mailhebeau. The restaurant now boasted five floors; the top floor offered a ballroom. A side door mimicked the earlier establishment with a birdcage elevator that took the men and their "companions" upstairs. They brought the elegance of the Nineties back to San Francisco as the Bergez-Franks Old Poodle Dog. The cuisine reflected the skills of some of the finest French chefs in the city but also included innovations unique to San Francisco. The original Louis Dressing originated in the Bergez-Franks Old Poodle Dog circa 1908; a product of the skills of Louis Coutard. Item #51-1071